Jorge Federico Osorio Plays Chávez Piano Concerto, Carlos Miguel Prieto Conducting

"The Frankfurt public welcomed this colorfully rich work [Copland El Salón México] with the utmost appreciation. With Shostakovich Symphony No. 6, the second part of the concert illustrated Prieto's mastery... even in the greatest climaxes of sound, he draws clear lines, extracts structures and controls dynamics brilliantly."
Rhein-Main-Zeitung (Frankfurt Radio Symphony)
Mexican conductor Carlos Miguel Prieto...offered the cellist [Yo-Yo Ma] strong and flexible support. ...The Lalo [Cello Concerto in d] was the middle course of Prieto's promising debut. ...After intermission came Rachmaninoff's Symphonic Dances.... ...Prieto guided the orchestra with a steady sense of its winding architecture, and brought it to an exciting close."
The Boston Globe (Boston Symphony Orchestra)
"Prieto took over the podium with confidence, shaping rhythmically pointed and gorgeously colored interpretation of two ballet classics: the second suite from Manuel de Falla's The Three-Cornered Hat, from 1919, and Igor Stravinsky's 1947 revision of his 1911 work, Petrouchka..."
Toronto Star (Toronto Symphony Orchestra)

"Carlos Miguel Prieto, internationally acclaimed and widely sought as a guest conductor, led Symphoria in Saturday's concert featuring compositions from Denmark and Russia. His commanding presence inspired the musicians to emotional intensity that warmed the crowd at the Mulroy Civic Center's Crouse-Hinds auditorium."

New Orleans musicians have plenty on tap for the Halloween weekend. The Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra will be especially busy, dishing up titanic classical works on Thursday (Oct 30), a Latin-themed multimedia show on Saturday (Nov. 1), and a chamber concert of war-haunted compositions at the World War II Museum on Sunday (Nov. 2).

The orchestra's star conductor, Carlos Miguel Prieto, will lead two of the shows.

Hear Carlos Miguel Prieto's interview on Radio NZ

Upcoming Concerts
Friday - November 21, 2014
8:00 PM

NDR Synfonieorkester

Hamburg Germany
Saturday - November 22, 2014
8:00 PM

NDR Synfonieorkester

Hamburg Germany