Carlos Miguel Prieto is considered the leading Mexican conductor of his generation. A highly respected cultural leader, Prieto is Musical America’s 2019 Conductor of the Year. He possesses a wide-ranging repertoire, has led over 100 world premieres, and is a champion of American and Latin American composers. Prieto serves as Music Director and Principal Conductor of the Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra, Music Director of Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional de México and Orquesta Sinfónica de Minería in Mexico, and Music Director of the Orchestra of the Americas. Prieto is a graduate of Princeton University and received his MBA from Harvard Business School.


  • Carlos Miguel Prieto Featured in The Economist - January 2, 2020

    MOST OF CARLOS MIGUEL PRIETO’S classmates from Princeton and Harvard Business School have built typical business careers. After applying or being headhunted for a job, they undergo a recruitment process lasting weeks or perhaps months. If successful, they do the role for a few years before moving on elsewhere and starting again: a recent study by Korn Ferry, a consultancy, found that even top executives have brief tenures, with CEOs remaining in place for an average of eight years. Mr Prieto, by contrast, has stuck with a number of his jobs for more than a decade each; he is currently considering what position he might like in three or four years’ time. Mr Prieto is an orchestral conductor, a profession so rarefied that most major appointments require a lengthy and careful courting process. Moves are planned many years in advance.

more news


Copland & Chávez: Pan-American Reflections

Copland & Chávez: Pan-American Reflections

Carlos Miguel Prieto, The Orchestra of the Americas

Copland Third Symphony

Chávez Sinfonia indía

Elgar & Finzi Violin Concertos

Elgar & Finzi Violin Concertos

Ning Feng, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Elgar Concerto in B Minor for Violin and Orchestra

Finzi Violin Concerto